December 01, 2009



Posted Nov. 18, 2009


Dr. Bruce W. Martin

Dr. Bruce W. Martin (OKL '75) was the recipient of the Animal Health Institute's 2009 Majon Huff Award. The award is the institute's top honor and recognizes outstanding commitment, leadership, and service to the AHI and industry.

Dr. Bruce is director of regulatory affairs in the Animal Health Division at Bayer HealthCare. One of his major accomplishments was helping negotiate the Animal Drug User Fee agreements with the Food and Drug Administration.


Dr. James W. Carpenter

Dr. Anthony W. Confer

Dr. Robert S. Hudson

Dr. Gary L. White

Oklahoma State University's Center for Veterinary Health Services recently awarded four veterinarians the 2009 OSU College of Veterinary Medicine Distinguished Alumni Award.

Dr. James W. Carpenter (OKL '74) is a professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences of Kansas State University's College of Veterinary Medicine; a clinical and research veterinarian in exotic animal, wildlife, and zoo animal medicine; editor-in-chief of the Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery; and president of the American College of Zoological Medicine.

Dr. Anthony W. Confer (OKL '72) is holder of the Walter Sitlington Chair for Food Animal Research at Oklahoma State University, a regents professor of veterinary pathobiology, and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists.

Dr. Robert S. Hudson (OKL '55) is a professor emeritus of large animal surgery and medicine at Auburn University and a diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists.

Dr. Gary L. White (OKL '68) is the director of comparative medicine at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, director of the university's Fort Reno Research Park, and a professor in the College of Medicine's Department of Pathology. He is the principal investigator and program director of two National Institutes of Health Research Resource Grants.

The honorees received the awards in late October during the Oklahoma State University Center for Veterinary Health Sciences fall conference on the Stillwater campus.