September 01, 2009


 The votes are in for AVMA councils and House Advisory Committee

Posted Aug. 15, 2009

In Seattle, the House of Delegates filled vacancies on AVMA councils and the House Advisory Committee.  

Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents

Dr. Stephen Sutherland, Richland, Mich., representing industry, exclusive; Dr. H. Scott Hurd, Ames, Iowa, representing epidemiology; Dr. Stanley KuKanich, Manhattan, Kan., representing clinical pharmacology; and Dr. Murl Bailey, College Station, Texas, representing members-at-large  

Council on Education 

Dr. Frederik Derksen, East Lansing, Mich., representing basic science; and Dr. D. Glen Esplin, Salt Lake City, representing nonprivate practice, nonacademic veterinary medicine

Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine

Drs. David Chico, Albany, N.Y., and Nick Striegel, Fort Collins, Colo., both representing agricultural agencies

Council on Research

Dr. Michael Kotlikoff, Ithaca, N.Y., representing colleges of veterinary medicine

Council on Veterinary Service

Dr. Rolan Tripp, La Mirada, Calif., representing private practice, exclusively small animal; and Dr. Amanda Chea Hall, Canby, Ore., representing members-at-large

Judicial Council

Dr. Andrew Maccabe, Washington, D.C., representing members-at-large

House Advisory Committee

Dr. Kenneth Bartels, delegate from Oklahoma, representing teaching and research; Dr. George Bishop, delegate from California, representing private practice, predominantly small animal; and Dr. Michael Topper, alternate delegate from Pennsylvania, representing members-at-large.