March 01, 2008



Posted Feb. 15, 2008



Dr. Henry J. Baker (AUB '60) is the new editor-in-chief of the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education, the publication of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges, effective Dec. 24, 2007. He succeeds Dr. Donal Walsh, editor from 2000-2007.

Dr. Baker is a professor emeritus at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine. He has been an author, reviewer, editor, and publications chair for a number of organizations. A diplomate of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine, he was editor of the journal Laboratory Animal Science from 1984-1991. He also served on the faculties of Johns Hopkins University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and Wake Forest University.


AAEP honors contributions


The American Association of Equine Practitioners honored veterinarians and horse enthusiasts at its 53rd Annual Convention in Orlando, Fla., in December.

Drs. James N. Moore and Howard E. Gill each received the Distinguished Educator Award. Dr. Moore received his DVM degree from the University of California-Davis in 1974. As a faculty member of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Georgia for the past 26 years, Dr. Moore has done extensive research in the area of endotoxemia and helped develop innovative computer-aided teaching modules.

AAEP award recipientsDr. Gill received his DVM degree from Kansas State University in 1952 and began serving on the faculty of Michigan State University in 1966. Outside of academia, Dr. Gill led a four-doctor practice in Pine Bush, N.Y.

Dr. Gary L. Norwood received the Distinguished Service Award. A 1965 graduate of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M University, Dr. Norwood served in the Army Veterinary Corps and is a former AAEP president. He was part of numerous AAEP committees and task forces and will assume the presidency of the World Equine Veterinary Association in 2008.

Former AAEP president, Dr. Robert D. Lewis, received the Distinguished Life Member Award. Dr. Lewis entered private practice after receiving his DVM degree from the Louisiana State University School in 1977. Dr. Lewis has also served the AAEP in various capacities, including as the association's representative to the AVMA Legislative Advisory Committee.

George Bagby, MD, and Barbaro's owners, Roy and Gretchen Jackson, and trainer Michael Matz won the George Stubbs Award for their contributions to equine veterinary medicine. They helped in the creation of multiple research funds, an endowed chair in equine disease research at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, and positive public outreach efforts that helped showcase the advances in equine medicine and surgery.

The Finger Lakes Thoroughbred Adoption Program in Farmington, N.Y., was chosen to receive the Lavin Cup—the AAEP Equine Welfare Award. The program finds homes for former racehorses. Racetrack veterinarian Dr. Margaret Ohlinger, trainer Phyllis Shetron, and horse owner Valerie Morrison, together with management from Finger Lakes Gaming and Racetrack, founded the program in 2005. They have since found homes for more than 100 former racehorses.

Dr. Ashlee E. Watts was named the 2007 AAEP Foundation Research Fellow. The $5,000 scholarship is awarded to a researcher completing a residency or graduate program while conducting equine research. After completing her large animal surgery residency at Cornell University, Dr. Watts, a 2003 Colorado State University graduate, will begin a PhD program in the Department of Comparative Biomedical Sciences at Cornell with a concentration in cellular and molecular medicine.