November 01, 2007



Posted Oct. 15, 2007

Iowa VMA


Drs. Thomson, Lemme, and West

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 13-14, Ames
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. John U. Thomson, Ames. A 1967 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Thomson has served as dean of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine since 2004. Prior to that, he was dean of the Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Early in his career, Dr. Thomson practiced in Clearfield, Iowa, for 20 years, and served as extension veterinarian and professor and head of veterinary science at South Dakota State University. He also directed the South Dakota Animal Disease Research and Diagnostic Laboratory. President's Award: Dr. Vaughn A. Seaton, Ames. A 1954 graduate of Kansas State University, Dr. Seaton is professor emeritus at Iowa State University, where he served as professor and head of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory from 1964 until retirement in 1994. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Dale Longtin, Muscatine. A 1958 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Longtin is a partner at Muscatine Veterinary Hospital. He is a past president of the Iowa VMA and serves as co-chair of the association's legislative committee.
Officials: Drs. Charles Lemme, Cedar Rapids, president; James West, Ames, president-elect; David Whitney, West Des Moines, vice president; and Fred Sick, Sioux Center, immediate past president

North Dakota VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 1-3, Bismarck
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. John B. Watkins, Minot. A 1951 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Watkins practiced at Minot Veterinary Clinic prior to retirement. Veterinary Technician of the Year: Lisa Trader, Casselton. Trader works at Casselton Veterinary Service.
Officials: Drs. Debra Trnovec, Jamestown, president; Derine Winning, Fargo, 1st vice president; Jesse Volmer, Denbigh, 2nd vice president; Frank Walker, New Rockford, secretary-treasurer; and Louis Pinkerton, Minot, immediate past president