October 15, 2007



Posted Oct. 1, 2007

Association of Avian Veterinarians


Drs. Orosz, Lafeber Jr., and Echols

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 4-9, Providence, R.I.
Program: The meeting was held in conjunction with the Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians.
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. Susan E. Orosz, Toledo, Ohio, won this award, given to an avian practitioner who is advancing the quality of health care for companion birds. A 1984 graduate of The Ohio State University, Dr. Orosz owns Bird and Exotic Pet Wellness Center. She is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). President's Award: Dr. Ted J. Lafeber Jr., Cornell, Ill., in recognition of his continued dedication to the health and welfare of the avian population. A 1988 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Lafeber is the president and chief executive officer of Lafeber Company, a provider of avian nutritional products. He is also the founder of www.lafebercares.com, a Web site that celebrates and honors companion animals, especially birds. Outstanding Service Award: Drs. Laurie R. Hess, Mount Kisco, N.Y.; Darrel K. Styles, Riverdale, Md.; Constance J. Orcutt, Boston; and James W. Carpenter, Manhattan, Kan. A 1994 graduate of Tufts University, Dr. Hess works at Advanced Avian & Exotics Vet PC. She is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). Dr. Hess was honored for her dedication to the growth and success of the AAV. A 1987 graduate of North Carolina State University, Dr. Styles works for the Department of Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. He was recognized for his dedication and commitment to avian welfare and the AAV. Dr. Orcutt received her DVM degree from Tufts University in 1991. She works at Angell Animal Medical Center and was recognized for her service as an associate editor of the Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery. A 1974 graduate of Oklahoma State University, Dr. Carpenter is a member of the veterinary faculty at Kansas State University and a past president of the AAV. Dr. Carpenter was honored for his leadership in the advancement and promotion of avian medicine, and his stewardship. AAV Resident Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Marion Desmarchelier, Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada, for "Diabetes mellitus in a nanday conure (Nandayus nenday)." Dr. Desmarchelier is a resident at the University of Montreal. AAV Student Manuscript Competition Award: Erika Evans (NCU '08), Raleigh, N.C., for "Diagnosis and treatment of spirochete infection in cockatiels." Conference scholarships were awarded to Dr. Gerrit Scheepers, Phalaborwa, South Africa; Dr. Jenelle Johnson, Saint Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago; and Karla Moreno-Torres, Tlalpau, Mexico.
Officials: Drs. M. Scott Echols, Austin, Texas, president; Karen Rosenthal, Philadelphia, president-elect; Kenneth Welle, Urbana, Ill., treasurer; and James Carpenter, Manhattan, Kan., immediate past president and conference chair

Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians


Dr. Angela LennoxEvent: Annual meeting, Aug. 6, Providence, R.I.
Program: The meeting, held in conjunction with the Association of Avian Veterinarians, had 52 members in attendance. Immediate past president of the AEMV, Dr. Angela Lennox, presided over the meeting.
Awards: President's Award: Dr. John Chitty, Andover, United Kingdom. A 1990 graduate of the Royal Veterinary College, Dr. Chitty practices at the Strathmore Veterinary Clinic in Hampshire, United Kingdom. He is the UK representative to the board of directors of the Association of Avian Veterinarians, secretary of the European Committee of the AAV, and co-editor of the second edition of the British Small Animal Veterinary Association Manual of Psittacine Birds.
Business: Topics of discussion included new features available on the AEMV Web site, www.aemv.org, and the content and format of future AEMV continuing education meetings. The 2008 goal for membership is to increase awareness and participation by veterinary technicians, international veterinarians, and veterinary students. Committees were formed to achieve this goal. Dr. Mike Dutton presented an update on the progress being made by the AEMV in its efforts to develop a specialty in exotic mammals within the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners.
Officials: Drs. Cathy Johnson-Delaney, Kirkland, Wash., president; Lauren Powers, Huntersville, N.C., vice president; Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga., secretary; Joerg Mayer, North Grafton, Mass., treasurer; and Angela Lennox, Indianapolis, immediate past president