September 15, 2007


 Hertzog appointed chair, other officers elected

Posted Sept. 1, 2007

At the AVMA Annual Convention in July, Dr. Robert E. "Bud" Hertzog accepted the role of chair of the American Veterinary Medical Foundation. He succeeds Dr. R. Tracy Rhodes.

"I hope as chair of the AVMF to continue to make our profession proud of their Foundation, and to encourage a greater number of AVMA members to become involved and make regular contributions to the AVMF," Dr. Hertzog said. "My goal for the coming year is to at least double the number of members giving to their Foundation."

"We have a great support staff at the AVMF, and we encourage everyone to get on board with us as we provide service to the animals and our profession," he continued.

Dr. Hertzog serves as managing partner in general veterinary practice for Lee's Summit Animal Hospital in Missouri. He graduated in 1956 from the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine.

In addition to Dr. Hertzog, other members of the 2007-2008 AVMF board of directors are Dr. George W. Bishop, Carmel, Calif.; Dr. John R. Brooks, Kingsville, Md.; Dr. Richard E. Coon, Forest Grove, Ore.; Dr. Larry R. Corry, Buford, Ga.; Dr. W. Ron DeHaven, Schaumburg, Ill.; Dr. P. Ray Glick, Wadsworth, Ill.; Dr. Larry M. Kornegay, Houston; Rebecca J. Kuprowicz, North Carolina; Dr. Bruce W. Little, Schaumburg, Ill., vice chair; Dr. Kim A. Nicholas, Renton, Wash.; Dr. Sherbyn W. Ostrich, Robesonia, Pa.; Dr. R. Tracy Rhodes, Buffalo, Wy., immediate past chair; Dr. Samuel E. Strahm, Pawhuska, Okla., treasurer; Dr. Anna M. van Heeckeren, Gates Mills, Ohio, secretary; Maureen Wilson, North Salt Lake, Utah. Also, Dr. Suzanne L. Craig, of Houston, and Cynthia Syverson-Mercer, of Westwood, Mass., will serve on the Grants and Awards Committee, and Kelly E. Lyons, PhD, of Kansas City, Kan., will serve on the Development Committee.