September 01, 2007


 The votes are in for AVMA councils and HAC

Posted Aug. 15, 2007

The House of Delegates elected 17 AVMA members to fill vacancies on AVMA councils.  

Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents 

Dr. John T. Waddell, Sutton, Neb., representing private clinical practice, predominantly food animal

Council on Communications 

Dr. Helen K. McShane, Austin, Texas, representing private practice, predominantly small animal; and Dr. Suzanne L. Craig, Houston, representing members at large  

Council on Education

Dr. Herbert E. Whiteley, Urbana, Ill., representing veterinary medical research; Dr. Nathan D. Voris, Columbia, Mo., representing private equine clinical practice; Dr. William S. Swecker, Blacksburg, Va., representing large animal clinical science; and Dr. Robert B. Cherenson, Turlock, Calif., representing private food animal clinical practice

Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine

Drs. Tracy S. DuVernoy, Silver Spring, Md., and Bhushan M. Jayarao, University Park, Pa., representing public health agencies or the armed forces; and Dr. Donald E. Hoenig, Belfast, Maine, representing agricultural agencies

Council on Research

Dr. G. David McCarroll, Goldsby, Okla., representing private clinical practice; and Drs. Don Reynolds, Ames, Iowa, and Kent Lloyd, Davis, Calif., representing veterinary medical research

Council on Veterinary Service

Dr. Carlos E. Bonnot, Wharton, Texas, representing private mixed practice, predominantly food animal or equine; Dr. Cheri A. Johnson, Williamston, Mich., representing academic clinical science; and Dr. Elysia Schaefer, Savoy, Ill., representing recent graduates

Judicial Council

Dr. David G. Beauchamp, Leland, N.C.


The HOD also elected three of its members to fill vacancies on the House Advisory Committee. Dr. Mark P. Helfat, alternate delegate from New Jersey, was re-elected to the position representing private practice, mixed. Dr. Barbara A. Schmidt, delegate from Kentucky, was elected to the position representing private practice, predominantly equine. Dr. C. Gary Bullard, delegate from Georgia, was elected to the position representing members at large.