September 01, 2007


 Centennial celebrations for Alabama VMA - September 1, 2007

posted August 15, 2007

More than 350 veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and guests gathered in Alabama's Orange Beach, June 28-July 1, to celebrate the Alabama VMA's 100th Annual Convention. Festivities opened with a beach party, complete with a firework display, disc jockey, and dance contests. Celebrations during the convention also featured a centennial cake party, a concert, and a special showing of the association's centennial DVD, highlighting veterinary medicine in Alabama.

Dr. George Woods of Selma talked about missionary work and the role Alabama veterinarians have played in third-world countries. As always, several hours of continuing education were offered to attendees.

Awards were given and officials were installed at the annual President's Awards Dinner. Dr. Lewis McCurdy of Huntsville was named Veterinarian of the Year. A past president of both the association and its foundation, Dr. McCurdy owns McCurdy Animal Hospital. He has served as liaison to the Huntsville Humane Association. Dr. Wayne Roberts of Enterprise received the Distinguished Service Award. A 1967 graduate of Auburn University and a past president of the ALVMA, Dr. Roberts owned Westgate Veterinary Hospital for 30 years. Dennis McDonough of Birmingham was recognized as Lay Person of the Year. In 1993, McDonough established the Alabama Pet Registry, helping to reunite people with their lost pets. The APR also serves as a support system for organizations devoted to animal welfare and the human-animal bond.

Special awards were given to Drs. Mark Russell, Huntsville, and Jacky R. Horner, Memphis, Tenn. Dr. Russell was honored for his efforts in organizing the centennial celebrations, including publishing a 100-year commemorative book, given to all members. Dr. Horner was recognized for his six years of service as District III representative for Alabama (and four other states) on the AVMA Executive Board. Service awards were presented to Drs. Charles Ashwander of Decatur and Babette Authement of Fairhope, for their years of service to the association and their continuing efforts in promoting veterinary medicine and the human-animal bond within their local associations.

Newly installed officials were Drs. C. Mark Russell, Huntsville, president; Michael Newman, Decatur, president-elect; Larry Chasteen, Pell City, vice president; and Aaron H. Groth Jr., treasurer