May 15, 2007



Oregon Veterinary Conference

Psted May 1, 2007

Event: Annual conference, March 9-11, Corvallis
Program: The conference, held jointly by the Oregon VMA and the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine, attracted more than 600 attendees. Topics included animal welfare and practice leadership. The Oregon VMA also hosted the International Camelid Health Conference, which had in excess of 70 attendees and featured lectures on camelid behavior, fertility, nutrition, and infectious diseases.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Jon Betts, Woodburn. A 1978 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Betts is a partner at Woodburn Veterinary Clinic and serves on the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. He has chaired the Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board and served on the OVMA Membership Services, Public Affairs, and Legislative Action committees. Dr. Betts is active in the Marion-Polk VA. Practice Manager of the Year: Lee Barg, Roseburg. Barg has served as practice manager at Parkway Animal Hospital in Roseburg for the past 11 years. She also serves as the primary coordinator for on-call services provided by five veterinary practices in Roseburg. Barg is a board member of the Umpqua Valley Humane Society. Technician of the Year: Gillian Cook, Albany. Cook works in Albany at Reid Veterinary Hospital, where she helps develop patient care protocols and postoperative care. She is an advocate for pain management and has mentored several veterinary technicians and assistants. President's Award: Rich Holdren, PhD, Corvallis. Dr. Holdren is interim dean of the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine. He was honored for his support of the veterinary profession, the OSU CVM, and veterinary students.
Officials: Drs. Jacqui Neilson, Portland, president; Scott Loepp, Portland, president-elect; Rob Shimek, Salem, vice president; and Linda Blythe, Corvallis, immediate past president