March 15, 2007



Posted March 1, 2007

Michigan Veterinary Conference


Event: Annual conference, Jan. 26-28, Lansing
Program: The conference, held jointly by the Michigan VMA and the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, attracted more than 1,600 attendees. One hundred fifty hours of continuing education were offered, and demonstrations were held on canine agility, animal massage, and animal behavior.
Awards: MVMA W. Kenneth McKersie Service Award: Dr. Susan S. Cook, Williamston, for cumulative service and accomplishments benefiting the veterinary profession, the community, and the association. A 1974 graduate of Michigan State University, Dr. Cook is a laboratory animal veterinarian who provides consulting and clinical support to research and teaching institutions. Earlier in her career, she was an assistant professor at the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine for 20 years. A past president of the American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners and the Michigan chapter of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, Dr. Cook represents ASLAP in the AVMA House of Delegates. She also serves on the MVMA Legislative Advisory and Public Health committees. Business Service Award: Merial Ltd., for promoting the veterinary profession. Merial Ltd. has supported the association for several years by providing sponsorships and educational speakers at the Michigan and the Mackinac Island veterinary conferences. The company also supports MSU CVM students, professional practice, and organized veterinary medicine.
Officials: Drs. Steve Steep, Eastpointe, president; Hylon Heaton III, Flint, president-elect; Paula Rode, Chelsea, 1st vice president; Jim Lloyd, Okemos, 2nd vice president; and Paul Mesack, Grayling, immediate past president


Missouri VMA


Event: 115th annual convention, Jan. 19-21, Lake of the Ozarks
Program: There were more than 600 attendees at the meeting, which offered in excess of 50 continuing education lectures. AVMA President Roger K. Mahr spoke on the strong heritage of the Missouri VMA and AVMA and on the concept of one medicine. Dr. Debbye Turner gave the keynote address, speaking about the need for veterinarians to become more involved with local media to help educate the public on animal health issues affecting their communities.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. George F. Fischer, Amity. A 1954 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, Dr. Fischer retired as a colonel from the Army Veterinary Corps in 1981. During his career with the corps, he served as a post veterinarian and food inspector, and as commander of the veterinary detachment in Europe from 1973-1976. Dr. Fischer later served as the chief of quality assurance and technical operations for the Defense Personnel Support Center in Philadelphia. A past president of the Michigan VMA, he is a board member of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation. Robert E. Hertzog Veterinary Leadership Award: Dr. Robert E. Hertzog, Lee's Summit, was the first recipient and namesake of this award, given for outstanding vision, leadership, and personal sacrifice leading to the betterment of the veterinary profession in the state and the country. A 1956 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, Dr. Hertzog owns Lee's Summit Animal Hospital. He is past chair of the AVMA Executive Board and the Missouri Veterinary Medical Examining Board, and past president of the Missouri VMA. President's Award, given to individuals who are instrumental to the MVMA president's efforts to advance the veterinary profession for the betterment of animal health in the state: Christina Castrop and Jim Rooney of the Southwest Animal Hospital in Jefferson City. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award: Dr. and Mrs. Richard Frame, Smithville, for their efforts toward the construction of the association's building and the foundation's veterinary museum. Dr. Frame is a past president of the MVMA board of directors and his wife, Judy, served on the MVMF board for several years. Honorary Membership Award of the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice: Dr. Dana K. Gillig, Sedalia, for providing leadership within her profession, educating veterinarians and the public, and rendering quality care to her patients. A 1998 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, Dr. Gillig practices at Sedalia Veterinary Center. She is a past president of the association's west-central district.
Officials: MVMA—Drs. Michael B. Pfander, Springfield, president; Steve M. Strubberg, Jefferson City, president-elect; Scott A. Fray, Springfield, vice president; Kara Amstutz, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; and Roger G. Dozier, Jefferson City, executive board chair. Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice—Dr. Kenneth M. Vroman, Sedalia, president; Dr. Jonathan L. Renfrow, Richmond, president-elect; Dr. Peggy T. Fisher, Jackson, vice president; and Richard Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive secretary-treasurer. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation—Dr. V.M. "Mac" Wilt, Paris, chairman; Dr. William J. Shore, St. Louis, vice chairman; Ann White, Perryville, secretary-treasurer; and Dr. James Howard, Jefferson City, museum director


Indiana VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Jan. 19-21, Indianapolis
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Roy Coolman, Fort Wayne. A 1965 graduate of Purdue University, Dr. Coolman co-founded the St. Joe Veterinary Hospital in 1967. He is a past president of the Indiana VMA. President's Award: Dr. Janet Sizelove, Indianapolis, was honored for her contributions to organized veterinary medicine. A 1983 graduate of Purdue University, Dr. Sizelove owns Decatur Veterinary Clinic. She is a past president of the Indiana VMA and has served on its Public Relations and Legislative committees.
Officials: Drs. Bill Somerville, Clinton, president; Tony Rumschlag, Noblesville, president-elect; Pete Bill, West Lafayette, vice president; Ross Clayton, Zionsville, treasurer; Steve Sunbury, Seymour, board chair; and Jim Weisman, Evansville, immediate past president