November 15, 2006

 
​call out

 National Pork Board requests research proposals - November 15, 2006

 
 
posted November 1, 2006
 

The National Pork Board is requesting proposals for research in categories that include swine health, swine welfare, pork safety, and public health.

The deadline for submissions is Nov. 28. Details are online at www.pork.org/Documents/RFPall.doc. Information about the Web site and submission process also is available from Bev Everitt at beveritt@pork.org or (515) 223-2750.

The NPB Swine Health Committee is soliciting proposals on issues and conditions affecting the health of swine. Funding is $50,000 per project. The committee encourages projects that link swine practitioners and research laboratories in field studies. Information is available from Pamela Zaabel at pzaabel@pork.org or (515) 223-2791.

The NPB Animal Welfare and Animal Science committees are soliciting proposals on issues affecting swine welfare. The committees encourage matching funds, projects that are multidisciplinary in approach, and details about the behavioral methodology of the study. Information is available from Sherrie Niekamp at sniekamp@pork.org or (515) 223-3533 or from Mark Boggess at mboggess@pork.org or (515) 223-2606.

For pork safety, the funding limit is $40,000 per project. For public health, funding is $50,000 per project. Information is available from Liz Wagstrom at lwagstrom@pork.org or (515) 223-2633 or from Steve Larsen at slarsen@pork.org or (515) 223-2754.

Technical advisers and pork producers will review research proposals prior to committee selection meetings.