September 01, 2006


 Twelve AVMA council seats filled by HOD

Posted Aug. 15, 2006

On July 15, the House of Delegates cast ballots in Honolulu and elected 12 AVMA members to fill vacancies on the following councils:  

Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents

Dr. Mark D. Wood, Plainwell, Mich., will represent members at large. 

Council on Education  

Drs. René A. Carlson, Chetek, Wis., and Joan M. Samuels, Buellton, Calif., will represent private clinical practice; Dr. Michael G. Kerfoot, Bakersfield, Calif., will represent private food animal clinical practice; and Dr. James J. Brace, Knoxville, Tenn., will represent members at large.  

Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Marianne Ash, Lafayette, Ind., will represent agricultural agencies.  

Council on Research

Dr. Michael E. Newman, Decatur, Ala., will represent private clinical practice.  

Council on Veterinary Service

Dr. Barbara F. Monaghan, Birmingham, Ala., will represent private practice, exclusively small animal.  

Council on Communications  

Dr. Theodore Evans, Tecumseh, Neb., will represent private practice, predominantly food animal; Dr. J. Clyde Johnson, Spofford, N.H., will represent private practice, predominantly equine; and Dr. Saundra E. Wright, Kent, Wash., will represent members at large.  


Judicial Council

Dr. Mike J. Murphy, St. Paul, Minn., was elected (no category specified).