May 15, 2006


 Board appoints representatives to committees, liaisons

Posted May 1, 2006

The Executive Board named the following individuals to the positions indicated. These veterinarians will begin serving in their roles at the conclusion of the AVMA House of Delegates session in July 2006. The duration of each term varies.
Animal Agriculture Liaison Committee
Executive Board—Dr. John R. Scamahorn, Greencastle, Ind.
Animal Welfare Committee
American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. Lauren K. Keating, Natural Bridge, Va.; American Association of Equine Practitioners—Dr. Nathaniel T. Messer, Columbia, Mo.; humane or animal welfare organization—Dr. Julie D. Dinnage, Boston; American Association of Bovine Practitioners—Dr. James P. Reynolds, Visalia, Calif.
Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Committee
Nonveterinarian aquaculture production—Dr. Andrew E. Goodwin, Pine Bluff, Ark.; industrial veterinary medicine—Dr. Nicholas J. Saint-Erne, Phoenix; academia—Dr. Timothy J. Miller-Morgan, Newport, Ore.
AVMA/American Society of Veterinary Medical Association Executives Joint Committee
Executive Board—Dr. Richard E. Coon, Forest Grove, Ore.
AVMA Group Health and Life Insurance Trust
Members-at-large—Drs. Dwight D. King, Wharton, Texas; Kathryn Blair Jones, Virginia Beach, Va.; Carolynn T. MacAllister, Stillwater, Okla.
Members-at-large—Drs. Thomas B. Little, Cicero, Ill.; Lance T. Moxey, Sheridan, Wyo.
AVMA PAC Policy Board
Area 2, Executive Board appointment—Dr. George E. Richards Jr., Danville, Ill.
Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee
American Association of Avian Pathologists delegate—Dr. John D. French, Bogart, Ga.; American Association of Swine Veterinarians alternative—Dr. Timothy P. Trayer, Denver, Pa.
Committee on Disaster and Emergency Issues
Committee on Environmental Issues—Dr. Murl Bailey Jr., College Station, Texas; federal or state public health agency—Dr. Carol H. Rubin, Atlanta; state veterinarian, active in disaster-related issues—Dr. Charlotte A. Krugler, Columbia, S.C.; equine medicineexpertise and experience in disaster preparedness and emergency issues—Dr. Paul P. Schiltz, Columbia, Mo.
Committee on Environmental Issues
American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners—Dr. Peregrine L. Wolff, Moorpark, Calif.; American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. Thomas R. Kendall, Sacramento, Calif.; American Association of Swine Veterinarians—Dr. Craig J. Rowles, Carroll, Iowa; government service—Dr. Bethany J. Grohs, Washington, D.C.; veterinary ecology—Dr. David A. Jessup, Santa Cruz, Calif.; zoo and/or wildlife medicine—Dr. R. Scott Larsen, Davis, Calif.; Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Committee—Dr. David E. Starling, Boone, Iowa
Committee on Human-Animal Bond
Zoo/aquatic/wildlife medicine—Dr. Donald W. Stremme, Camden, N.J.
Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities
Veterinary technicians, non-program-affiliated—Deborah Danforth, Milton, Vt.; C. Lynn Reece, Athens, Ga.; laboratory animal medicine—Dr. Craig L. Wardrip, Chicago; at-large—Dr. Anne S. Hale, Stockbridge, Mich.
Convention Management and Program Committee
DVM interactive laboratory—Dr. Kenneth E. Bartels, Stillwater, Okla.; poultry medicine—Dr. A. Gregorio Rosales, Huntsville, Ala.
Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates
Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. Phillip D. Nelson, Upland, Calif.
Food Safety Advisory Committee
International Association for Aquatic Animal Medicine—Dr. Kathleen H. Hartman, Ruskin, Fla.; American Association of Avian Pathologists—Dr. Elizabeth A. Krushinskie, Tucker, Ga.; American Association of Bovine Practitioners—Dr. David R. Smith, Lincoln, Neb.; American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners—Dr. Christine B. Navarre, Baton Rouge, La.; American Association of Swine Veterinarians—Dr. Elizabeth A. Wagstrom, Des Moines, Iowa
Legislative Advisory Committee
Executive Board—Dr. James O. Cook, Lebanon, Ky.; American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners—Dr. Gary L. Borkowski, Chesterfield, Mo.; ASLAP alternate—Dr. Stacy L. Pritt, Denver, Pa.; American Association of Swine Veterinarians—Dr. Harry O. Snelson, Warsaw, N.C.; AASV alternate—Dr. John T. Waddell, Sutton, Neb.; American Association of Avian Pathologists—Dr. Charles L. Hofacre, Athens, Ga.; American Association of Equine Practitioners—Dr. Robert D. Lewis, Elgin, Texas; AAEP alternate—Dr. Mylon E. Filkins, Bakersfield, Calif.
Member Services Committee
Private clinical practice, practice owner—Dr. Robert A. Dietl, Richfield, Minn.; private clinical practice, food animal—Dr. R. Tracy Rhodes, Buffalo, Wyo.
State Advocacy Committee
Area 1, Eastern States—Dr. Ernest C. Godfrey, Pinellas Park, Fla.; Area 2, Central States—Dr. Tom J. Johnson, Ankeny, Iowa; Legislative Advisory Committee—Dr. Gerald R. Schmoling, Tampa, Fla.
Strategic Planning Committee
Recent graduates—Dr. Amanda Chea Hall, Portland, Ore.; AVMA Councils—Dr. D. Lisa Parshley, Houston
Veterinary Leadership Conference Planning Committee
American Society of Veterinary Medical Association Executives—Candace Joy, Bellevue, Wash.; House Advisory Committee—Dr. Gary C. Bullard, Austell, Ga.
Liaison representatives
Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International—Dr. K.C. Kent Lloyd, Davis, Calif.; American Feed Industry Association—Dr. David K. Wallace, Minneapolis, Kan.; Codex Committee on Residues of Veterinary Drugs in Food—Dr. A. David Scarfe, Schaumburg, Ill.; Johnes National Working Group—Dr. Lanny W. Pace, Jackson, Miss.; Joint Subcommittee on Aqua Working Group for QA—Dr. David E. Starling, Boone, Iowa; Psittacosis Compendium—Dr. Paul L. Garbe, Atlanta; Rabies Compendium Committee, NASPHV—Dr. John J. Schiltz, Des Moines, Iowa; US Pharmacopeial Convention—Dr. Donald C. Sawyer, Tucson, Ariz.; American Registry of Pathology—Dr. L. Garry Adams, College Station, Texas; USDA National Animal Health Reporting System Aquaculture Commodity Working Group—Dr. Marilyn J. Blair, Kamiah, Idaho