April 01, 2006



Posted March 15, 2006

Connecticut VMA

Drs. Yessenow, Rand, and Nieman

Event: Annual meeting, Feb. 1-2, Hartford
Awards: Veterinarians of the Year: Drs. Sheldon Z. Yessenow, Trumbull; and Laura N. Rand, Woodbury. A 1977 graduate of The Ohio State University, Dr. Yessenow practices at Oronoque Animal Hospital in Stratford. As a member of AVMA Veterinary Medical Assistance Team 1, he assisted with efforts on the Gulf Coast after the recent hurricanes. Dr. Rand is a 1994 graduate of Tufts University and practices at Watertown Animal Hospital. She has lectured at the Naugatuck Valley Health District on disaster preparedness, also assisting on the Gulf Coast as a member of AVMA VMAT-1. Distinguished Service Award: William H. Austin, West Hartford; and Sam McGee, Vernon. Fire chief of West Hartford and chair of the Capitol Region Emergency Planning Committee for the Hartford area, Austin was honored for his vision and accomplishments in moving Connecticut forward with disaster preparedness on behalf of animals, through his support of the Connecticut State Animal Response Team. Prior to retirement in 2003, McGee was a senior territory manager for Pfizer Animal Health. He was honored for his contributions to veterinary medicine in Connecticut. Technician of the Year: Alexis Reid, Vernon. A member of the board of directors of the Veterinary Health Care Team of Connecticut, Reid works at North Veterinary Clinic in Ashford. She was honored for her services on behalf of animals displaced by the recent Gulf Coast hurricanes. Life membership was granted to Drs. Michael P. Ratner, Trumbull; Mark R. Graves, Norwich; and Richard E. Lau, Cheshire.
Officials: Drs. Larry J. Nieman, Trumbull, president; Eva Ceranowicz, Suffield, president-elect; Robert H. Belden, New Milford, vice president; Peter S. Conserva, Suffield, treasurer; Richard Willner, Stonington, assistant treasurer; Steven M. Price, Watertown, secretary; Lynn S. Keller, Portland, assistant secretary; and Arnold L. Goldman, Canton, immediate past president.


Indiana VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Jan. 27-29, Indianapolis

Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Sandra Norman, Indianapolis. A 1980 graduate of Purdue University, Dr. Norman directs the Companion Animal and Equine Division of the Indiana State Board of Animal Health. She is a past president of the IVMA and has chaired several of its committees. Recently, Dr. Norman served with AVMA Veterinary Medical Assistance Team 5 in Louisiana. President's Award: Dr. Lyndon Conrad, Elkhart. A 1968 graduate of The Ohio State University, Dr. Conrad owns Noah's Landing Pet Care Clinic. He serves on the IVMA board of directors, which he chaired recently. 

Officials: Drs. Jim Weisman, Evansville, president; Bill Somerville, Clinton, president-elect; Tony Rumschlag, Noblesville, vice president; Ross Clayton, Carmel, treasurer; and Carl Watters, South Bend, immediate past president  



Correction: Please note: the online version of this document contains a correction. Corrected text is shown in bold text above.