April 01, 2006



Posted March 15, 2006



Dr. Ron Prestage (AUB '82) has become chairman of the board of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association for 2006.

Dr. Prestage is president of Prestage Farms of South Carolina. He has been on the board of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association since January 1997, and he has served as chairman of the National Turkey Federation and the South Carolina Poultry Federation.

Dr. Prestage said he'll draw on his experience in the poultry industry to contribute to the development of the association.

"This year is going to be an even more successful year as we continue to work together to meet the needs of the poultry industry," Dr. Prestage said during the International Poultry Expo in Atlanta.

Dr. Robert A. Smith (KSU '76) has become a member of the board of the U.S. Animal Identification Organization.

Dr. Smith will represent the National Cattlemen's Beef Association on the board. The bovine practitioner from Stillwater, Okla., has chaired the NCBA Cattle Health and Well Being Committee. He has served on the Beef Quality Assurance Advisory Board for more than a decade.

Dr. Smith is also a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, editor of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners' publications, and a Western Veterinary Conference board member. He served 23 years on the Oklahoma State University faculty.



Dr. W. Ray Waters (AUB '88) recently received recognition as the Midwest's Early Career Scientist of the Year from the Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service.

The ARS presented awards to scientists who earned PhD degrees within the past decade and have been with the agency for seven years or less. The ARS highlighted Dr. Waters' contribution to the diagnosis and control of tuberculosis in livestock and wildlife.

Dr. Waters, who earned his PhD in immunobiology from Iowa State University, is a veterinary medical officer with the ARS Bacterial Diseases of Livestock Research Unit in Ames, Iowa.




Several veterinarians were honored at the 2005 joint meeting of the United States Animal Health Association and American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians this past November in Hershey, Pa.

Dr. J. Lee Alley (AUB '56), secretary of the U.S. Animal Health Association and retired Alabama state veterinarian, was presented with the initial USAHA President's Award. Dr. Richard Willer, 2004-2005 USAHA president, presented the award.

Dr. Alley was USAHA president in 1992 and chaired the Committee on Brucellosis from 1994-2000.

As president, Dr. Willer presented a special recognition to USAHA life member, Dr. Lowell Barnes (OSU '35), and his wife, Maryhelen. He praised Dr. Barnes for his lifetime spent protecting U.S. animal agriculture and his longtime involvement in the organization.

Dr. Willer (COL '80) accepted the annual award of the National Assembly of State Animal Health Officials from Dr. David Thain, Nevada state veterinarian and NASAHO president. Dr. Willer, who is Arizona state veterinarian, was chosen for his outstanding contributions to U.S. animal health in the regulatory field.

Dr. Bob Hillman (TEX '71), Texas state veterinarian, received the APHIS Animal Health Award, also known as the Administrator's Award, from Dr. John Clifford, deputy administrator of Veterinary Services for the Department of Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.

Dr. Clifford noted that Dr. Hillman's work with tuberculosis, brucellosis, and trade issues—particularly with Mexico—has been critical to furthering the APHIS mission of safeguarding animal health. He also cited Dr. Hillman's organizational leadership.

Dr. Patricia Blanchard (MSU '82) received the E.P. Pope Memorial Award, given by the AAVLD for noteworthy contributions to the association and to the implementation and recognition of the specialty of veterinary diagnostic laboratory medicine. Dr. Blanchard is branch chief of the California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory, Tulare.




Louisiana State University's Equine Health Studies Program recently received a Heroes for Horses Award from the United States Equestrian Foundation for efforts in assisting horses and horse owners through hurricanes Katrina and Rita.

Faculty, staff, and students with the program helped rescue and care for horses that fell victim to the storms. Dr. Rustin Moore (OSU '89), director, accepted the award on behalf of the team.

Dr. Nicholas H. Booth has received the William E. Morgan Achievement Award from the Colorado State University Alumni Association.

Dr. Booth (MSU '47) retired as emeritus professor of physiology and pharmacology at the University of Georgia.

Previously, he was director of the Food and Drug Administration's Division of Veterinary Medical Research and dean of Colorado State University's College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

He has been chairman of the AVMA Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents and the National Research Council Veterinary Drug Panel, and he served as a member of three AVMA panels on euthanasia. Dr. Booth was a contributing author and co-editor of the textbook "Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics."

Dr. James G. Fox (COL '68) received a College Honor Alumnus Award from the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Fox is a professor and director of comparative medicine at the Whitaker College of Health and Sciences at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has served as a Colorado State consultant for laboratory animal medicine. He is also a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.

Previously, Dr. Fox worked in the Laboratory Animal Branch of the U.S. Army Veterinary Corps.

Dr. Marion Hammarlund (KSU '53) has received a 2006 Alumni Recognition Award from the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Dr. Hammarlund is a consultant in Riverside, Calif., for laboratory animal care and poultry production farms. He is also a volunteer with Heifer International and Winrock International.

Originally from Topeka, Kan., Dr. Hammarlund once owned a food animal clinic in Colorado and later owned a small animal practice in California. He has worked for Ralston Purina Co. in St. Louis, Arlington Veterinary Laboratories in Riverside, and the San Bernardino County Health Department in California.