April 15, 2005


 Ontario names new dean

Posted April 1, 2005

Dr. Elizabeth Arnold StoneDr. Elizabeth Arnold Stone will step up to the role of dean at the Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph, on June 1. She will succeed interim dean Dr. Carlton Gyles.

Dr. Stone currently serves as a professor and head of the Department of Clinical Sciences at North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine in Raleigh. Since becoming department head in 1993, Dr. Stone has increased the department faculty from 28 to 50. She also enhanced the college's Equine Health Program by working with the dean to hire the program's first director and by establishing additional interdepartmental programs.

Along with adding faculty positions, Dr. Stone has improved veterinary student services at the college. She established a Community Campus Program to provide students an opportunity to hone their medical skills by supplying preventive care and spay-and-neuter services for homeless dogs and cats.

Before joining NCSU, Dr. Stone held various other academic positions. She was assistant professor at the University of Pennsylvania and a visiting research assistant professor at the Sol Sherry Thrombosis Research Center at the Temple University School of Medicine.

Dr. Stone graduated from the University of California-Davis in 1976. She earned a master's in physiology at the University of Georgia in 1980 and a master's in public policy at Duke University's Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy in 1993.

A veterinary urologist, Dr. Stone's research currently focuses on the neurophysiology of lower urinary-tract syndromes. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons. She has co-written a textbook of veterinary urology and published numerous papers, reviews, and book chapters. She also co-founded the Society for Veterinary Medicine and Literature, which drives forward the discussion of literature and art in veterinary medical education and practice.

Dr. Stone has also held the positions of president at the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and chair of the Morris Animal Foundation's Scientific Advisory Board. She was also on the first certifying examination committee for the European College of Veterinary Surgeons.