September 01, 2002


 House of Delegates elects 15 council members

Posted Aug. 15, 2002

The House of Delegates cast ballots and elected the following 15 AVMA members to fill vacancies on AVMA councils.
New council membersNew council members: (standing)—Drs. Samuel E. Strahm, Gerald W. Parker, John P. Huntley, G. Tom Barrows, and David M. Hood. (Seated)—Drs. Reilly P. Glore, Amanda Chea Hall, Charles E. Ozanian, and Shannon B. McGee. (Not present: Drs. Joseph J. Bertone, Kevin A. Hahn, C. A. "Tony" Buffington, Mark D. Starr, James M. Hamilton, and Lloyd H. Kloppe)

Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents
Dr. Joseph J. Bertone, Carbondale, Colo., representing private practice, predominantly equine; and Dr. Kevin A.Hahn, Houston, representing private practice, predominantly small animal

Council on Education
Dr. Shannon B. McGee, Collierville,Tenn., representing private small animal clinical practice; Dr. C. A. "Tony" Buffington,Columbus, Ohio, representing small animal clinical science; Dr.Samuel E. Strahm, Pawhuska, Okla., representing private food animal clinical practice; and Dr. Reilly P. Glore, Montesano, Wash., representing private clinical practice

Judicial Council
Dr. G. Tom Barrows, Atlanta

Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Mark D. Starr, Rocklin, Calif., representing public health agencies or the armed forces; and Dr. John P. Huntley, Hadley, N.Y., representing members at large

Council on Public Relations
Dr. James M. Hamilton, Southern Pines, N.C., representing private practice, predominantly equine; and Dr. Amanda Chea Hall, Portland, Ore., representing members at large

Council on Research
Drs. David M. Hood, College Station, Texas, and Gerald W. Parker Jr., Middletown, Md., both representing veterinary medical research

Council on Veterinary Service
Dr. Lloyd H. Kloppe, Buckeye, Ariz., representing private practice, exclusively equine; and Dr. Charles E. Ozanian, Ferndale, Calif., representing private mixed practice, predominantly food animal or equine