Twenty-four states issue veterinary recognitions

​As of press time, the AVMA has received state gubernatorial proclamations or letters from 24 states, celebrating 2013 as the year of the veterinarian in honor of AVMA's 150th birthday. These include Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. 

Several more proclamations may be in the works and arrive soon.  AVMA appreciates the assistance of state veterinary medical associations in obtaining the proclamations and letters, all of which will be framed and proudly displayed at the 2013 AVMA Annual Convention in Chicago near the entrance of the exhibit hall.