State Animal Health Officials

Alabama


Dr. Anthony G. Frazier
State Veterinarian
Animal Industry Division
Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL 36107
Phone: (334) 240-7255
Fax: (334) 240-7198
Email: tony.frazier@agi.alabama.gov
Website: http://agi.alabama.gov/state_veterinarian/

Alaska


Dr. Robert Gerlach
State Veterinarian
Department of Conservation and Environmental Health
5251 Hinkle Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: (907) 375-8215
Fax: (907) 929-7335
Email: bob.gerlach@alaska.gov
Website: http://www.dec.state.ak.us/eh/vet/

Arizona


Dr. Perry Durham
State Veterinarian
Arizona Department of Agriculture
1688 West Adams Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 542-4293, (02) 542-0960
Fax: (602) 542-4293
Email: pdurham@azda.gov
Website: http://www.azda.gov/ASD/statevet.aspx

Arkansas


Dr. George Badley
State Veterinarian
Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission
1 Natural Resources Drive
Little Rock, AR 72205
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 8505
Little Rock, AR 72215
Phone: (501) 907-2400
Fax: (501) 907-2425
Email: pbadley@alpc.ar.gov
Website: http://alpc.arkansas.gov/ABOUTUS/Pages/staff.aspx

California


Dr. Annette Jones
State Veterinarian and Director
California Department of Food and Agriculture
Animal Health and Food Safety Services
2800 Gateway Oaks
Sacramento, CA 95814
Mailing Address: 1220 N. Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 900-5000
Fax: (916) 900-5332
Email: annette.jones@cdfa.ca.gov
Website: http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/

Colorado


Dr. Keith Roehr
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Industry
Colorado Department of Agriculture
700 Kipling St., Suite 4000
Lakewood, CO 80215
Phone: (303) 239-4166
Fax: (303) 239-4164
Email: keith.roehr@state.co.us
Website: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/ag_Main/CBON/1251626373787

Connecticut


Dr. Mary Jane Lis
State Veterinarian
Bureau of Regulation and Inspection
165 Capitol Avenue, Room G-8A
Hartford, CT 06016
Phone: (860) 713-2505
Fax: (860) 713-2548
Email: mary.lis@ct.gov
Website: http://www.ct.gov/doag/cwp/view.asp?a=1367&q=259102

Delaware


Dr. Heather Hirst
State Veterinarian
Delaware Department of Agriculture
2320 S. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 698-4500
Fax: (302) 697-4451
Email: heather.hirst@state.de.us
Website: http://dda.delaware.gov/contact.shtml

Florida


Dr. Thomas J. Holt
State Veterinarian and Director of Animal Industry
Division of Animal Industry
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
335 Mayo Bldg., 407 South Calhoun Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
Phone: (850) 410-0900
Fax: (850) 410-0915
Email: thomas.holt@freshfromflorida.com
Website: http://www.freshfromflorida.com/ai/contact.shtml

Georgia


Dr. Robert Cobb
State Veterinarian
Animal Industry Division
Georgia Department of Agriculture
19 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr., SW
Atlanta, GA 30334-4201
Phone: (404) 656-3671
Fax: (404) 657-1357
Email: robert.cobb@agr.georgia.gov
Website: http://agr.georgia.gov/animal-industry-division.aspx

Hawaii


Dr. Jim Foppoli
State Veterinarian/Administrator
Animal Industry Division
Hawaii State Department of Agriculture
99-941 Halawa Valley St.
Aiea, HI 96701
Phone: (808) 483-7111
Fax: (808) 483-7110
Email: james.m.foppoli@hawaii.gov
Website: http://hawaii.gov/hdoa

Idaho


Dr. Bill Barton
State Veterinarian/Administrator
Division of Animal Industries
Idaho State Department of Agriculture
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd
Boise, ID 83712
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 7249
Boise, ID 83707
Phone: (208) 332-8540
Fax: (208) 334-4062
Email: bill.barton@agri.idaho.gov
Website: http://www.idahoag.us/Categories/AboutISDA

Illinois


Dr. Mark Ernst
State Veterinarian
Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare
Illinois Department of Agriculture
801 E. Sangamon Ave., State Fairgrounds
Springfield, IL 62794-9281
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 19281
Springfield, IL 62794-9281
Phone: (217) 782-4944
Fax: (217) 558-6033
Email: mark.ernst@Illinois.gov
Website: http://www.agr.state.il.us/about/offices.html

Indiana


Dr. Bret D. Marsh
State Veterinarian
Indiana State Board of Animal Health
Discovery Hall, Suite 100
1202 East 38th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46205
Phone: (317) 544-2400
Fax: (317) 542-1415
Email: bmarsh@boah.in.gov
Website: http://www.state.in.us/boah/2343.htm

Iowa


Dr. David D. Schmitt
State Veterinarian
Animal Industry Bureau
Agriculture & Land Stewardship
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: (515) 281-5305
Permit Phone: (515) 281-8601
Fax: (515) 281-5305
Email: david.schmitt@iowaagriculture.gov
Website: http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/animalindustry.asp

Kansas


Dr. William L. Brown
Animal Health Commissioner
Division of Animal Health
Kansas Department of Agriculture
109 SW 9th Street, 4th Floor
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: (785) 296-2326
Permit Phone: (785) 296-2328
Fax: (785) 296-1765
Email: william.brown@kda.ks.gov
Website: http://agriculture.ks.gov/divisions-programs/division-of-animal-health

Kentucky


Dr. Robert Stout
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Health
Kentucky Department of Agriculture
100 Fair Oaks Lane, Suite 252
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 564-3956
Fax: (502) 564-7852
Email: robert.stout@ky.gov
Website: http://www.kyagr.com/statevet/state-vet-directory.html?iframe=true&width=520&height=600&scrolling=no

Louisiana


Dr. Brent Robbins
State Veterinarian
Animal Health and Food Safety
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry
5825 Florida Boulevard, Rm 1262
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1951
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
Phone: (225) 925-3962
Fax: (225) 237-5555
Email: brobbins@ldaf.la.gov
Website: http://www.ldaf.louisiana.gov/portal/Offices/AnimalHealthServices/tabid/62/Default.aspx

Maine


Dr. Michele Walsh
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Industry
Maine Department of Agriculture
State House, Station 28
Augusta, ME 04333-0028
Phone: (207) 287-7615
Fax: (207) 624-5044
Email: Michele.walsh@maine.gov
Website: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/ahi/contacts.html

Maryland


Dr. Guy Hohenhaus
State Veterinarian and Chief of Animal Health
Maryland Department of Agriculture
Animal Health Program
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (410) 841-5810
Fax: (410) 841-5999
Email: animalhealth@mda.state.md.us
Website: http://mda.maryland.gov/animalHealth/Pages/default.aspx

Massachusetts


Dr. Lorraine O’Connor
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Health
Department of Agricultural Resources
251 Causeway St., Suite 500
Boston, MA 02114-2151
Phone: (617) 626-1795
Permit Phone: (617)626-1810
Fax: (617) 626-1850
Email: lorraine.oconnor@state.ma.us
Website: http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/animal-health/

Michigan


Dr. Steven L. Halstead
State Veterinarian
Michigan Department of Agriculture
525 W. Allegan
Lansing, MI 48933
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 284-5769
Fax: (517) 241-4502
Email: halsteads@michigan.gov
Website: http://www.michigan.gov/mdard/

Minnesota


Dr. William L. Hartmann
Executive Director and State Veterinarian
Minnesota Board of Animal Health
625 North Robert St.
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 296-2942
Fax: (651) 296-7417
Email: bill.hartmann@state.mn.us
Website: http://mn.gov/bah/program-directors.html

Mississippi


Dr. James A. Watson
State Veterinarian
Board of Animal Health
Mississippi Department of Animal Health
121 N. Jefferson St.
Jackson, MS 39201
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 3889
Jackson, MS 39207
Phone: 5172845769
Fax: (601) 359-1177
Email: jimw@mdac.state.ms.us
Website: http://www.mbah.state.ms.us/index.html

Missouri


Dr. Linda Hickam
State Veterinarian
Animal Health Division
Missouri Department of Agriculture
1616 Missouri Blvd.
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 630
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630
Phone: (573) 751-3377
Fax: (573) 751-6919
Email: linda.hickam@mda.mo.gov
Website: http://mda.mo.gov/animals/health/staff.php

Montana


Dr. Martin Zaluski
State Veterinarian
Animal Health Division
Montana Department of Livestock
301 N. Roberts
Helena, MT 59620-2001
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 202001
Helena, MT 59620-2001
Phone: (406) 444-2043
Permit Phone: (406)444-2976
Fax: (406) 444-1929
Email: mzaluski@mt.gov
Website: http://www.liv.mt.gov/ah/contact.mcpx

Nebraska


Dr. Dennis A. Hughes
State Veterinarian
Animal and Plant Health Protection
Nebraska Department of Agriculture
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4787
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 94787
Lincoln, NE 68509-4787
Phone: (402) 471-2351
Fax: (402) 471-6893
Email: dennis.hughes@nebraska.gov
Website: http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/animal/index.html

Nevada


Dr. Phil LaRussa
State Veterinarian
Administrator Division of Animal Industry
Nevada Department of Agriculture
405 South 21st St.
Sparks, NV 89431
Phone: (775) 353-3755
Permit Phone: (775) 353-3718
Fax: (775) 353-3659
Email: plarussa@agri.nv.gov
Website: http://agri.nv.gov

New Hampshire


Dr. Stephen K. Crawford
State Veterinarian
Markets and Food Division of Animal Industry
New Hampshire Department of Agriculture
State House Annex, 2nd Floor
25 Capitol St.
Concord, NH 03229
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2042
Concord, NH 03302-2042
Phone: (603) 271-2404
Fax: (603) 271-1109
Email: stephen.crawford@agr.nh.gov
Website: http://agriculture.nh.gov/contactus.htm

New Jersey


Dr. Manoel Tamassia
State Veterinarian and Director of Division of Animal Health
Division of Animal Health
New Jersey Department of Agriculture
3 Schwarzkopf Dr.
Ewing, NJ 08628
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625-0330
Phone: (609) 671-6400
Fax: (609) 671-6413
Email: manoel.tamassia@ag.state.nj.us
Website: http://www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/ah/about/contacts.html

New Mexico


Dr. Dave E. Fly
State Veterinarian
New Mexico Livestock Board
300 San Mateo NE – Ste. 1000
Albuquerque, NM 87108
Phone: (505) 841-6161
Fax: (505) 841-6160
Email: dave.fly@state.nm.us
Website: http://www.nmlbonline.com/

New York


Dr. David Smith
State Veterinarian and Director, Division of Animal Industry
Division of Animal Industry
New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets
10 B Airline Drive
Albany, NY 12235
Phone: (518) 457-3502
Fax: (518) 485-7773
Email: david.smith@agriculture.ny.gov
Website: http://www.agriculture.ny.gov/AD/Admin_dir.html

North Carolina


Dr. David T. Marshall
State Veterinarian
Veterinary Division
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Rm. 566, Agriculture Bldg.
2 West Edenton Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
Mailing Address: 1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030
Phone: (919) 733-7601
Fax: (919) 733-2277
Email: david.marshall@ncagr.gov
Website: http://www.ncagr.gov/vet/

North Dakota


Dr. Susan J. Keller
State Veterinarian
State Board of Animal Health
North Dakota Department of Agriculture
600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 602
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-2655
Fax: (701) 328-4567
Email: skeller@nd.gov
Website: http://www.nd.gov/ndda/program/animal-health

Ohio


Dr. Tony Forshey
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Health
Ohio Department of Agriculture
8995 E. Main St.
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068
Phone: (614) 728-6220
Fax: (614) 728-6310
Email: tforshey@agri.ohio.gov
Website: http://www.agri.ohio.gov/

Oklahoma


Dr. Rod Hall
State Veterinarian
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry
Animal Industry Division
P.O. Box 528804
Oklahoma City, OK 73152
Mailing Address: 2800 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73152
Phone: (405) 522-0270
Permit Phone: (405)522-6141
Fax: (405) 522-0756
Email: rod.hall@ag.ok.gov
Website: http://www.oda.state.ok.us/ais/oair.pdf

Oregon


Dr. Brad LeaMaster
State Veterinarian
Animal and Identification Division
Oregon Department of Agriculture
635 Capitol St., NE
Salem, OR 97301-2532
Phone: (503) 986-4680
Fax: (503) 986-4734
Email: bleamaster@oda.state.or.us
Website: http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/AHID/Pages/index.aspx

Pennsylvania


Dr. Craig Shultz
State Veterinarian and Director
Bureau of Animal Health and Diagnostic Services
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
2301 N. Cameron St.
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9408
Phone: (717) 772-2852
Fax: (717) 787-1868
Email: crashultz@state.pa.us
Website: http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_2_24476_10297_0_43/http%3B/10.41.0.77/AgWebsite/Page.aspx?name=Director-Bureau-of-Animal-Health-and-Diagnotstic-Services&navid=0&parentn

Rhode Island


Dr. Scott Marshall
State Veterinarian
Rhode Island Division of Agriculture
Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade Street, Rm. 370
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 222-2781 ext 4503
Fax: (401) 222-6047
Email: scott.marshall@dem.ri.gov
Website: http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/bnatres/agricult/staff.htm

South Carolina


Dr. Boyd Parr
State Veterinarian
Clemson Livestock Poultry Health Programs
Clemson University
500 Clemson Rd.
Columbia, SC 29229
Mailing Address: Box 102406
Columbia, SC 29224-2406
Phone: (803) 788-2260
Fax: (803) 788-8058
Email: bparr@clemson.edu
Website: http://www.clemson.edu/public/lph/#do

South Dakota


Dr. Dustin Oedekoven
State Veterinarian
South Dakota Animal Industry Board
411 S. Fort St.
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-3321
Fax: (605) 773-5459
Email: dustin.oedekoven@state.sd.us
Website: http://aib.sd.gov/contactus.shtm

Tennessee


Dr. Charles Hatcher
State Veterinarian
Division of Regulatory Services
Tennessee Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 40627
Nashville, TN 37204
Phone: (615) 837-5120
Fax: (615) 837-5250
Email: charles.hatcher@tn.gov
Website: http://www.tn.gov/agriculture/regulatory/stateveterinarian.shtml

Texas


Dr. Dee Ellis
State Veterinarian and Executive Director, Texas Animal Health Division
Texas Animal Health Commission
2105 Kramer Lane
Austin, TX 78758
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 12966
Austin, TX 78711
Phone: (512) 719-0704
Permit Phone: (512) 719-0777
Fax: (512) 719-0719
Email: dee.ellis@tahc.state.tx.us
Website: http://www.tahc.state.tx.us

Utah


Dr. Bruce L. King
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal Industry
Utah Department of Agriculture
350 North Redwood Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500
Phone: (801) 538-7162
Permit Phone: (801)538-7164
Fax: (801) 538-7169
Email: bking@utah.gov
Website: http://ag.utah.gov/animal/animal-health.html

Vermont


Dr. Kristin M. Haas
State Veterinarian
Food and Markets
Vermont Department of Agriculture
116 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05602-2901
Phone: (802) 828-2426
Fax: (802) 828-5983
Email: Kristin.Haas@state.vt.us
Website: http://www.vermontagriculture.com/fscp/animalHealth/personnel.html

Virginia


Dr. Richard L. Wilkes
State Veterinarian
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Oliver W. Hill Building, Rm. 165
102 Governor St.
Richmond, VA 23219
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1163
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone: (804) 692-0601
Fax: (804) 371-2380
Email: richard.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov
Website: http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pdffiles/vdacsorgchart.pdf

Washington


Dr. Paul Kohrs
State Veterinarian
Food Safety/Animal Health Division
Washington State Department of Agriculture
1111 Washington Street
Natural Resources Bldg.
Olympia, WA 98504-2577
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 42560
Olympia, WA 98504-2577
Phone: (360) 902-1881
Permit Phone: (360)902-1878
Fax: (360) 902-2087
Email: pkohrs@agr.wa.gov
Website: http://agr.wa.gov/FoodAnimal/AnimalHealth/

West Virginia


Dr. Jewell Plumley
State Veterinarian
Animal Health Division
West Virginia Department of Agriculture
60B Moorefield Industrial Park Rd
Moorefield, WV 26836
Phone: (304) 538-2397 or (304) 558-2214
Fax: (304) 538-8133
Email: jplumley@wvda.us
Website: http://www.wvagriculture.org/Division_Webpages/animal_health.html

Wisconsin


Dr. Robert Ehlenfeldt
State Veterinarian and Administrator of the Division of Animal Health
Division of Animal Health
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Dr
Madison, WI 53708-8911
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708-8911
Phone: (608) 224-4872
Fax: (608) 224-4871
Email: robert.ehlenfeldt@wisconsin.gov
Website: http://datcp.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming


Dr. Jim Logan
State Veterinarian
Wyoming Livestock Board
1934 Wyott Dr.
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Mailing Address: 610 Fairgrounds Rd.
Riverton, WY 82501
Phone: (307) 857-4140
Fax: (307) 857-6380
Email: jim.logan@wyo.gov
Website: http://wlsb.state.wy.us/