AVMA-GRD Staff Lobbying Responsibilities

The AVMA mission is to improve animal and human health and advance the veterinary medical profession. The AVMA Governmental Relations Division actively promotes the Association's federal legislative and regulatory priorities, monitors legislative developments, keeps members updated on activities, influences congressional lawmakers and policymakers working for federal agencies and liaisons with strategic partners.

Print version (pdf).


AVMA-GRD Staff Lobbying Responsibilities

 Dr. Mark Lutschaunig, Director,  mlutschaunig@avma.org

Patricia Mayo, Administrative Manager, pmayo@avma.org

Valerie Goddard, Staff Assistant, vgoddard@avma.org

   Stephanie Fisher, Program Manager and Policy Analyst, sfisher@avma.org

Victoria Broehm, GRD Communications Manager, vbroehm@avma.org

             Natalie Thomas, Consultant/ PAC Manager, nthomas@avma.org

Megan Broad, Administrative Assistant, mbroad@avma.org

Gina Luke
Assistant Director
Dr. Whitney Miller
Assistant Director

Dr. Ashley Morgan
Assistant Director

  • Appropriations priorities (VMLRP, NAHLN, AFRI, ARS, FARAD, MUADP, AHDR, ADT, NVAP)
  • Farm Bill issues
  • Small business
  • Veterinary workforce
  • Tax issues (marketplace fairness and VMLRP award tax exemption)
  • Veterinary education and school issues (student aid, accreditation) Insurance issues
  • Association issues
  • Animal Welfare
  • Animal Welfare Act/ Research
  • Animal Transportation
  • Human Animal Bond
  • Guardianship
  • Ownership
  • Aquatic Veterinary Medicine
  • Environmental Issues
  •  Conservation
  • EPA
  • Zoo & Wildlife Issues
  • Endangered Species Act
  • Animal Health
  • Biotechnology
  • Research
  • Emergency Response
  • Bio- & Agro-terrorism
  • Homeland Security
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Veterinary Biologics
  • Public Health
  • Food Safety
  • Federal Workforce Issues
  • Uniformed Services Veterinarians
  • Board certified pay