AVMA-GRD Staff Issue Responsibilities

The AVMA mission is to improve animal and human health and advance the veterinary medical profession. The AVMA Governmental Relations Division actively promotes the Association's federal legislative and regulatory priorities, monitors legislative developments, keeps members updated on activities, influences congressional lawmakers and policymakers working for federal agencies and liaisons with strategic partners.


Dr. Kent McClure, Chief Governmental Relations Officer, kmcclure@avma.org

Dr. Mark Lutschaunig, Director,  mlutschaunig@avma.org

Patricia Mayo, Administrative Manager, pmayo@avma.org

Valerie Goddard, Program Manager and Policy Analyst, vgoddard@avma.org

Natalie Thomas, Consultant/ PAC Manager, nthomas@avma.org

Catlin Ulrich, Communications Liaison/Writer​, culrich@avma.org

Jamae Hawkins, Staff Assistant, jhawkins@avma.org

Monica Ukaoma, Administrative Assistant, mukaoma@avma.org



Gina Luke
Assistant Director
Dr. Mark Lutschaunig
Director
Dr. Lauren Stump
Assistant Director
  • ​​​Federal Budget
  • Federal Appropriations
  • Veterinary Education
  • Student Financial Aid
  • Small Business
  • Tax Issues
  • Veterinary Workforce
  • Association Issues
  • ​Animal Welfare
  • Animal Transportation
  • Zoo & Wildlife issues
  • Endangered Species Act
  • Aquatic Veterinary Medicine
  • Environment, conservation & EPA
  • Guardianship and Ownership
  • Human Animal Bond
  • ​Animal Health & Research
  • Pharmaceuticals & Veterinary Biologics
  • Public Health
  • Food Safety
  • Biotechnology
  • Bio- & Agro-terrorism
  • Emergency Response
  • Homeland Security
  • Farm Bill Issues​