Barbara A. Schmidt, DVM

AVMA Treasurer 2011-2017

AVMA Officers
Biographical Sketch

Dr. Barbara A. Schmidt, of Union, Kentucky, is a 1984 graduate of the Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine. She began her career at the Animal Health Center, a mixed-animal practice in Alexandria, Kentucky, where she worked until 1988. In 1988, she launched her own equine veterinary practice serving northern Kentucky, southeastern Indiana and southwestern Ohio, where she still works today.

Dr. Schmidt has also owned and managed Bridlewood Farm with her husband, Frederick Abblett, in Union Kentucky since 1990. This facility provides clinic intermediary and recuperative care, stallion services, mare reproductive services and foaling and Hanoverian breeding. It's also a U.S. Department of Agriculture quarantine and importation facility.

Dr. Schmidt continues to show her dedication to her profession through her active leadership in the AVMA. She was an alternate and delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates (HOD) from 2002-2011. Representing equine private practice, Dr. Schmidt was the first female member of the House Advisory Committee (HAC) from 2007-2011 and became chair of the HAC in 2009-2010. As HAC chair, she served as the HOD liaison to the AVMA Executive Board from 2009-2010. In 2011, she became the AVMA treasurer, which is a non-voting member of the Executive Board.

Dr. Schmidt has also been active in organized veterinary medicine at the local and state level. She has been vice president (1999-2000) and president (2001-2002) of the Kentucky Veterinary Medical Association (KVMA). In addition, she served on the KVMA Executive Board from 1993-2011, representing Northern Kentucky from 1993-1999. The KVMA named Dr. Schmidt Kentucky Veterinary of the Year in 2008.

In addition, she was appointed to the Kentucky Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners in 1998 and served through 2005, she served on the Equine Reproduction Committee of the American Association of Equine Practitioners from 1986-1990 and she's served on the American Hanoverian Society Board of Directors since 1990.